We use cookies on this site to enhance your user experience. Do You agree?

Doctoral Schools

On 1st October 2018, the new Law on Higher Education and Science entered into force. According to the Act, Polish universities were required to establish doctoral schools.

On 17th April 2019, the University of Warsaw established 4 doctoral schools: Doctoral School of Humanities, Doctoral School of Social Sciences, Doctoral School of Exact and Natural Sciences and Interdisciplinary Doctoral School.

In 2019, doctoral education was conducted in 33 fields of doctoral studies and in four newly-established doctoral schools (of humanities, social sciences, exact and natural sciences, and interdisciplinary).

Doctoral School of Humanities

disciplines: archaeology, philosophy, history, linguistics, literary studies, cultural and religious studies, arts

Interdisciplinary Doctoral School

At the Interdisciplinary Doctoral School, doctoral students prepare theses based on achievements in at least two freely elected fields of academic research, with the leading field indicated, or single-field projects without any leading discipline specified