We use cookies on this site to enhance your user experience. Do You agree?

Henryk Samsonowicz Prize for academic publications in history

The Dean of the Faculty of History of the UW has decided to establish the Henryk Samsonowicz Prize for academic publications in history from the academic year 2023/2024. This is a dean’s prize, awarded to authors of outstanding publications once a year in two categories: scholarly monographs and editions or translations of source texts.

The prize can have three levels, with different amounts of financial recognition, and it is possible to award up to two prizes of the same level ex aequo.

The right to nominate books for the prize is open to all members of the Faculty of History. This year, books published in 2021 or 2022 can be awarded.

In the 2023/2024 edition, the prizes will be awarded by a jury consisting of:

  • Marcin Pauk (chairman)
  • Katarzyna Błachowska
  • Paweł Janiszewski
  • Natalia Królikowska-Jedlińska
  • Marek Pawełczak
  • Jolanta Sikorska-Kulesza
  • Marcin Zaremba
  • Marzena Zawanowska

Please send book nominations for the award directly to the chairman of the jury – Marcin Pauk (m.pauk@uw.edu.pl) enclosing a short recommendation of the submitted book (preferably in pdf form).

The nomination deadline has been extended to November 15, 2023.

Regulations and order of the dean